ESPN Won’t Be a Limewire

At today’s MIT Sloan Sports Conference (in the “Media Rights Panel”), John Skipper, ESPN President, drew a line in the sand:

“We have no intention of happening to us what happened to the music business.”

Skipper’s comment made clear that his network is aware of the threat from online, pirated streaming, and he went on to say, according to tweets from the “Media Rights” seminar conducted at the conference,

“We are not providing anything free on the internet. You have to pay for it.”

Let me be clear here: I did NOT attend the MIT Sloan conference live; I monitored it on twitter “all the livelong day” (to take a phrase from “I’ve Been Working on the Railroad.”)  So I cannot, and will not, warrant for the precise accuracy of every quote. In fact, I had a hell of a time just cutting and pasting, from the numerous tweets (many of which were useless), back into my own outlines of comments.  So — for those of you who squawk: “well, who said this” — or other squawks, all I can say is that, once I started trying to copy, whole cloth, an entire “tweet”, the formatting got so attentuated and unworkable that I had to stop.  It is what it is.

So stop squawking, enjoy what’s here, and confirm what you want to from other sources. I’m not trying to fool anybody. But, now that it’s 10 pm, I’ve been sitting, monitoring or writing, for almost twelve hours.

About brewonsouthu

Michigan and Big Ten fan, former lawyer, with interest in college sports and NCAA oversight and decisions, and sports generally.
This entry was posted in ESPN, Facebook, Media Rights and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

